January 2022 Development Journey Recap

January 2022 Development Journey Recap

·

2 min read

As I sat here on January 31st, I had this idea of writing a monthly recap of the things I've done, so I can document my year as well as share the things I've accomplished. The idea that struck this monthly recap was Portfolio Review Friday. I wanted to display how many portfolios I had gone through and how much time it took me to go through them all.

Portfolio Review Friday

Let's start off with Portfolio Review Friday. This month, I conducted 83 portfolio reviews. I would guess that just a handful were repeated customers. Each review usually takes about 20 to 25 minutes. 83 x 20 minutes = 27.6 hours. When you put it this way, wow! That's pretty much a part-time job.

I never thought that I'd receive a partner in this endeavor, but this partnership made so much sense with Pastel! The product they are building makes it so easy to provide feedback onto a website. It's an amazing tool and an even more amazing team.

Screen Shot 2022-01-31 at 7.27.37 AM.png

What's next with Portfolio Review Friday?

When things slow down for me, I'm going to create a FREE and paid portfolio templates. I want to provide resources for fellow developers to build professional and vetted portfolios. This allows you to focus on your projects while having a very high chance of receiving a call back for a job interview.

Tech Twitter

To date, I have 8,131 followers. The number of followers does not mean as much to me as the number of interactions. Looking at these numbers, my engagement rate is at a 4.1% for the month. Not to shabby. My goal with many of my tweets are for the community to contribute and help one another. We can grow individually, or we can build a community together.

Screen Shot 2022-01-31 at 7.33.04 AM.png

Screen Shot 2022-01-31 at 7.33.31 AM.png

Wrapping It Up

I didn't plan much for these recaps and have no idea where they're leading to. I hope it will iterate and evolve to something useful for others. Until next month!


Thanks for reading! Let's connect!

I want to personally thank you for reading this blog. If you want to connect or see more of my content, please feel free to connect with me via Twitter.